Einstein photo

Iconic Einstein photo

Recently (Okay, last June), a friend of mine earned her Master’s degree in Technical Writing.  Her thesis had something to do with Einstein and popular science writing (but much dryer than that), so for the party in her honor I decided to make an Einstein Pie.  She loves lemon meringue pie so that part was a no-brainer!

Pie that looks like Einstein

I was really surprised to find no pictures of anything like this out there!  🙂

Pie crust from Rose Levy Berenbaum’s Pie and Pastry Bible.  My absolute favorite, although I take a shortcut or two.

Lemon meringue pie recipe also from that same book, although I altered to avoid dairy where needed.

Chocolate drops for the eyes, and a strawberry for the tongue, and we were all set!

Leftover strawberries used in this pie:

Strawberry Rhubarb Tart

Which is tartification of a strawberry rhubarb pie recipe from I don’t remember where, at this point!  Oops.

Looked nice but very goopy.

My free time these days is pretty much taken up by my three hobbies: kitten fostering/rescue, bagpiping, and quilting.

But now that I’ve figured out how to get back into my WP account (I won’t even say how long it’s been), I might post a thing or two…

Kitten asleep next to a practice chanter

Sorry, she’s been adopted!