Topside of the Dobos Torte

Topside of the Dobos Torte

I have a fondness for European-style desserts that require some fussing. They’ll probably never be cost-effective enough for me to sell them wholesale (although I’m happy to make them for special occasions), but there’s just something wonderful about the final product of a million fussy little steps.

The Dobos Torte is one such, and I made one a few weeks ago. The recipe came from an absolutely lovely cookbook called Kaffeehaus by Rick Rodgers, that is a compendium of all things Austrian and pastry. I love this book.

The Dobos Torte is described as follows:

“Five thin layers (no more, no less) of vanilla sponge cake, each slathered with chocolate buttercream icing, and topped with wedges of caramel-glazed cake.”

Side shot of the Dobos

Side shot of the Dobos

Here you can see the prescribed five layers – and that they’re not exactly what you’d call even… I started out afraid of using up all of my sponge batter and so made a couple of very thin layers, and then ended up making one big one at the end. Oops. Well, when you slather it all in fabulous chocolate buttercream and sugar, nobody notices. I sure didn’t.

The caramel wedges are being propped up by hazelnuts.

I’m not typing the recipe in, because it’s three frickin’ pages long. There’s one that makes a square torte, one that looks vaguely similar to this one, one from Gale Gand with the ugliest looking picture (I’m so not kidding; I wouldn’t even eat that cake), one that is seriously, seriously wrong (I mean, frozen poundcake, chocolate chips, and sweetened condensed milk? OW MY BRAIN), and an eGullet recipe that is totally different from the others, yet looks darned tasty. So, let inspiration take you!

