Cranberry-Orange Bread

Cranberry-Orange Bread

People are actually starting to give me money for food!  I am so excited by this development.

Also exciting is that I finally broke down and bought myself a food processor.  I’ve owned a little bitty one for years, but never a large one.  So I got this one. It came Thursday, and I spent all Friday using it to make pie crusts (about 15 so far).  I am IN LOVE.  This is the second-best large purchase I’ve ever made for the kitchen — the first is my beloved Kitchen Aid, which has been going strong for 15 years now, and I expect will for another 15.  I did pick up a secondhand 6-quart for the kitchen, and it handles doubled recipes and bread nicely, but it shall never replace my old favorite in my heart or in my home kitchen. But back to my food processor.  It has two big buttons on the front  – “ON” and “OFF/PULSE”.  The buttons, bless them, are so nice and big and easy to push that when my arms start to get tired of pulsing, I can scoot the machine to the edge of the counter and use my hip.  Ergonomic all the way!

One of the things recently ordered from the business was a loaf of the cranberry-orange bread, so now there are pictures.  One of the things I need to do is go through and bake one of everything on the list so that I can take pretty pictures for the website.  Someday, when I have free time.  Heh.

This is a pretty straightforward quick-bread – the thing to remember about quick breads is that the less you mix them, the lighter the final result will be.  It’s okay to still see flour – by the time you get it all into the pan, it’ll be mixed enough.

Cranberry-Orange Quick Bread
Recipe adapted from this one on recipezaar

Ingredients

* 2 cups all-purpose flour (I use White Lily)
* 3/4 cup sugar
* 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
* 3/4 teaspoon salt
* 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
* 1/4 cup butter, softened
* 1 tablespoon orange zest
* 3/4 cup orange juice
* 1 egg
* 1 cup cranberries, chopped (fresh or frozen)

Directions
1.     Grease/spray bottom only of a 8×4 or 9×5 loaf pan.
2.     Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and baking soda. Add margarine and mix until crumbly.
3.     Add peel, 3/4 c orange juice, and egg; stir until moistened Add cranberries.
4.     Pour batter (it will be thick) into pan and bake until a knife comes clean from the center.
5.     For a 8″ loaf, about 75 min; for a 9″ loaf, about 55-65 min at 350F (watch after about 50 min, depending on your oven).
6.     Loosen sides from pan, remove & cool completely.

Cranberry Orange Loaf

Cranberry Orange Loaf

We’re in Arkansas for the weekend, so no baking, but when I get back, it’s time to make filling for a few dozen pies…

